Dallas County DWI
What are the drunk driving laws in Dallas County?
Drunk driving laws in Texas don’t vary depending on which county you’re in. You may be judged legally intoxicated in Texas if:
- You have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher OR
- You simply appear to be intoxicated, which is defined as appearing not in possession of your normal physical or mental capabilities due to having consumed alcohol
A prosecutor only has to prove one of the previous three methods to a jury to convict you, which is why you need an expert Dallas criminal attorney to defend you of DWI charges.
If you are pulled over for drunk driving in Dallas County:
Above all, remember tostay calm and treat the police officer with the utmost respect. Absolutely do not try to talk your way out of a DWI.
If the officer requests that you perform field sobriety tests, ask to contact a Dallas DWI attorney first. They will probably say no, but this will serve as excellent evidence that you possessed your normal mental faculties if your case makes it to trial. You are not legally required to submit to field sobriety tests, but the officer may arrest you upon your refusal.
If an officer requests a breath or blood test, again ask to contact a Dallas County criminal attorney before proceeding – this will help establish your sobriety. If you refuse to take chemical test, you will be charged with a DWI.
How long will a Dallas DWI conviction stay on my record?
If you are convicted of a DWI in Dallas or the surrounding areas, including Grapevine, Coppell, Garland, or Irving, the conviction will stay on your record forever – which is why, in most cases, conviction is not an option. However, if you hire an experienced criminal attorney and are found not guilty, you may have the conviction expunged from your record. No law enforcement official or future employer will be able to tell you were ever accused of a DWI.
What are the penalties for a DWI conviction in Dallas?
A first conviction will earn you between 72 hours and 180 days in jail, as well as a fine of up to $2,000. Most first-time offenders receive probation instead of jail time, which commonly includes community service, monthly reporting, and DWI education classes.
Contact Us Today
Our DUI/DWI criminal defense attorneys have a proven record of winning the most difficult cases. Our well trained DUI Attorneys & their commitments to clients has made us stand out from the crowd in legal industry.
If being convicted of a DUI/DWI is not an option, contact The Wilder Firm for a FREE CASE CONSULTATION by calling (469) 227-0772 or by filling out the form below: