Texas DWI Penalties
Everyone needs to understand that a conviction will be on your record forever. There is no difference between pleading guilty and being found guilty by a jury. Guilty is Guilty.
If you are found guilty, either by a plea or by a jury, the following are the ranges of punishment you would face:
Penalties of a Conviction
Every year in Texas, 1,000 people die from alcohol-related accidents, making this the deadliest state in the country. Because of this, the DWI penalties for driving while intoxicated in the state of Texas are some of the harshest and most serious in the country. Unfortunately, having any of these penalties permanently on your record can have a serious effect on your future, from your career to your finances and more.
If you have been charged with a first-time driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense, it is a considered a class B misdemeanor if you are convicted. This type of charge can also carry with it anywhere from a minimum of 72 hours to a maximum of six months in county jail in some cases. You may also face 90 to 180 days of license suspension for a first-time DWI offense, although some first-time offenders may be eligible for an occupational license if the court believes it is an "essential need."
Some other DUI penalties that often come with this type of conviction include multiple fines and costs, time spent in Texas DWI school and a set amount of community service hours.
If you are facing a second, third or higher DWI conviction, the penalties and consequences often become worse. For instance, a second DWI offence is considered a class A misdemeanor carrying with it a minimum of 30 days in jail and a maximum of one year. Fines can also be as high as $4,000 for a second-time DWI offender if convicted. However, many other administrative and court fees could apply making the overall costs much higher.
The harshest penalties of a conviction that come with driving while intoxicated come when intoxication assault (3rd degree felony) and intoxication manslaughter (2nd degree felony) are involved. Most Judges will not put an ignition interlock as a condition of your bond if it is your first DWI. However, if you are charged with Intoxicated Assault, Manslaughter or a subsequent DWI (no matter how long ago your first DWI was), you are required by law to install an ignition interlock device on your car. You also are not allowed to drive any vehicle that is not equipped with an interlock device.
Because of the serious amount of drunk driving penalties that can come with even your first DWI conviction, it is absolutely essential that you hire an experienced DWI lawyer to help fight your charges and bring you the best possible outcome for your case. Our experienced team of attorneys at The Wilder Firm can help fight your case and ensure that the outcome does not affect your future in any negative way.
As DUI/DWI criminal defense attorneys in Texas, we have a proven record of winning the most difficult cases. In addition to our superior litigation skills, our DWI Defense Lawyers have guided many people with DWI charges from Dallas County & the surrounding area. If being convicted of a DUI/DWI is not an option, contact The Wilder Firm for a FREE CASE CONSULTATION by calling 469-227-0772.
Contact Us Today
As DUI/DWI criminal defense attorneys at Texas, we have a proven record of winning the most difficult cases. In addition to our superior litigation skills, our DWI Defense Lawyers have guided many people with DWI charges from Dallas County & the surrounding area.
If being convicted of a DUI/DWI is not an option, contact The Wilder Firm for a FREE CASE CONSULTATION by calling 469-227-0772 or by filling out the form below: