Drunk Driving Law on Concealed Handguns
If you are pulled over or arrested for driving while intoxicated, completing a sobriety test or facing a small fine may not always be the worst of your worries. Here in Texas, many people are able to carry concealed weapons as long as they carry a proper concealed weapons permit. However, if you are found carrying your handgun while also facing a DWI charge at the same time, you could be in some serious trouble if you do not take the proper steps.
If you are someone who frequently travels with a concealed weapon, you must be aware that if you drive while you are intoxicated and you have your gun with you, there is a possibility that you could be charged with two very serious fines. First, of course, is driving while intoxicated (DWI). Second, you could be charged with Unlawful Carrying of Handgun by License Holder.
The law in Texas states that “a license holder commits an offense if, while intoxicated, the license holder carries a handgun under the authority of Sub-chapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, regardless of whether the handgun is concealed.”
It is important to note that the law does not mention the necessity of driving. Therefore, if you are walking down the street, or in a public place and you are intoxicated, you can also be charged with committing this offense. This is a Class “A” misdemeanor, with a range of punishment of confinement in the county jail for not more than 1 year and/or a fine not to exceed $4,000. If you are probation eligible, it may be granted for up to 24 months.
If you were convicted of a DWI/DUI in Texas while also carrying a concealed weapon, it is imperative that you contact an experienced DWI lawyer to look over your case. Contact The Wilder Firm for a FREE CASE CONSULTATION by calling 469-227-0772 or by filling out the form below:
Contact Us Today
If being convicted of a DUI/DWI is not an option, contact The Wilder Firm for a FREE CASE CONSULTATION by calling 469-227-0772 or by filling out the form below: